Parents' Day 2023

Annual Parents' Day

Our annual Parents’ Day Mass and Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday 11th of May, to acknowledge and reward the wonderful achievements and efforts of our school community this past year. Mass was celebrated by our distinguished guests; Bishop Nulty, Fr. John Dunphy, Mons. Byrne and Fr Shem Furlong, with our school choir adding tremendously to the occasion.

The Merit Award

The Merit award is presented to a student in each year group, whom the subject teachers feel has made the greatest progress throughout the year and has put in a huge effort to improve. The winners were: Ben Corrigan (1st year), Aodhan Bergin (2nd year), Febin Manoj (3rd year), Cathal Buggle (5th year) and Oisin Jackson (6th year).

The Achievement Award


The Achievement award is presented to the top performing student in each year group based on his results in the formal exams throughout the year. The winners were: Eoghan Harris (1st year), James McDonnell (2nd year), Kevin McKeon (3rd year), Cathal Hennessy (5th year), and Conor Bowe (6th year).

Art & Music

Congratulations to Jack McGeer and Ryan Clancy for their excellent contribution to Art and Music respectively, with both students receiving awards in these categories.  James Hovenden came away the Comhaltas award in recognition of his dedication to, and promotion of, the genre of Irish music

JP2 Award

The following students received the JP2 Award for the outstanding work they have carried out in their respective parishes: Daniel Brennan (silver), Ewan Morrissey (silver), James Hovenden (gold), John Phiri (gold), and Tadhg Ronan (gold).


On the sporting front, the senior footballers were quite successful, as vice Captain Jesse McEvoy presented the Carlow School trophy to Mr. Ronan while Captain Jamie Conway presented the South Leinster A  League title to Mr. Carew. The 1st year footballers’ captain, Darragh Brennan, presented the Laois Schools Blitz trophy to Fr. Dunphy.

Gaelic Star Awards

  Well done to Matthew Farrell, John Phiri, Cian Campion and Aaron Gordon for being selected on the SETU Carlow Schools All Stars Hurling team. Congrats to Matthew Farrell, John Phiri, Cialan Brady, Conall Bergin and Aodhan Lowry for being selected on the SETU Carlow Schools All Stars Gaelic Football team. The winners of the Gaelic Star Award were:  Mark Buggy (U14), Ennae Byrne (Junior), and Conall Bergin (Senior).


  The Senior Basketballers reached the All Ireland Semi Final in the Cup competition, earning them bronze medals for their efforts.


The winners of the Basketballer of the Year Awards were: Liam Hooney (1st year), Aodhan Bergin (2nd year), Mikey Byrne (Junior), Jack Kehoe (Senior) and Conall Bergin (Overall).


  In Athletics, several individual and team medals were won in both cross country and track field events in the Laois and South Leinster events. The Athlete of the year Award winners were Willy Duffy (1st year), Finn Craig (Junior), and Makenzie McIvor (Senior)


Sportsperson of the Year

 The overall sportsperson of the year award went to Jack Byrne for his huge contribution to sports in Knockbeg College, representing us in Gaelic Football, Basketball and Hurling throughout his six years.


 Well done to the following students who have excelled in their specialist field on the sporting front; Jack Kehoe who represents Ireland on the u19 basketball squad, Tadhg Ronan is a member of the Leinster u19 rugby panel, Kevin McKeown (Leinster hockey), Febin Manoj (provincial cricket for Leinster), Conor Buckley (Pony Club Games National team), and Finn Craig (representing Ireland in world mountain racing).


Green Schools Committee

 Well done to our Green Schools Committee who worked tirelessly this year to receive our second green schools flag for water. It is no surprise that two of its members, Kevin McKeon and Finn Criag, received the Parents’ Award for their huge contribution to Knockbeg College on many different fronts. The Amber flag was also retained as a result of organising wellbeing initiatives and promoting positive mental health.


Bishop Denis is presented with a Knockbeg College Re-Usable Drinking water bottle

Gaeltacht Scolarships

Many thanks to the Parents’ Association for their continuous backing and with their support we are able to send Michael Gaffney, John Phiri (both 5th year), Jack Dowling (2nd year) and Eoin Mulkerrins (1st year) to the Gaeltacht this summer.


Noeleen Heffernan Retires

 Our much loved secretary of 32 years, Noeleen Heffernan, retired this year and that milestone has been marked by both the staff and the Board of Management at a function earlier in the year. The parents’ association and the student body acknowledged the outstanding service of Noeleen to Knockbeg by making a presentation to her on the day.


Outstanding Leaving Cert Results

Every year we invite members of the previous year’s leaving cert class, who have achieved outstanding results in their leaving cert. To recognise their endeavours and hard work, we as a staff want to acknowledge their achievements. From last year’s leaving cert class cohort we want to congratulate, on behalf of all in the Knockbeg community; Fergus Langton, Colin Phelan, Matthew Buggy and Pablo Byrne.

Meitheal Leaders

Well done and thanks to Brian Broderick, Daniel Brennan, Bobby Daly, Mikey Kelly, Brian Cox, Luke Doogue, John Phiri, Josh Brady, Gavin Dowling and Adam Hennessy for their role as Meitheal Leaders in helping first years integrate into Knockbeg and make a smooth transition from primary to post primary school. 

The outgoing Meitheal Leaders are presented with cerfificates by Bishop Nulty.



Many thanks also to Fiacc Brennan, Conall Bergin, Fionn Heslin, Patrick Joyce, Patrick Marnane and Tadhg Ronan for accepting the position of prefect and for being such brilliant role models in the school community.

The outgoing prefects are presented with certificates by Fr John

The incoming prefects are presented with their badges by Mr Michael Regan

Charitable Work

A big part of what Knockbeg prides itself on is the charitable work and fundraising it does for worthy causes. This year, €5000 was raised for many various charities, such as SVP, Pieta House, Embrace Farm and the Donal Walsh Foundation.

New Sports Pitch Development

School Annual

Our school annual is hot off the press – only released last week.. Huge work has been undertaken by Ms. Fenelon and the editorial team to get it over the line. Mr. Maxwell helped with the sports section and it is an account of the past year’s activities, both curricular and extra curricular. A huge thank you to our many and varied sponsors and without your support this production would not be possible.

 A particular mention to Mr. Murphy, Ms. Law and the Kilquan Players for facilitating a raffle during the interval on one of their drama nights in Coon in February. Well done to one of our TY students, Darren Garcia, who designed the image of our college crest displayed on the back cover. We would ask all students, past & present, staff and parents to support to help cover the costs associated with it. The price for one annual is just €10 or two can be purchased for €15. All proceeds will be greatly appreciated.