Webinar for Parents of students with Dyslexia

Webinar for Parents (1  hour) –

Dyslexia and how it affects students at Second Level

How parents can support the student at Second Level


  • How parents can support the student in the following areas
    • Organisation
    • Note-taking
    • Memory and Learning
    • Writing
    • Reading
    • Spelling and Vocabulary
  • Key educational choices such as subject choice, language exemptions and RACE.


The presentation is just over an hour with questions and discussion following.


Date: Monday 19th April

Time: 7.00 pm

Tutor: Wyn McCormack

To sign on for this course please email cwedcentre@gmail.com  stating  Name, School and a Zoom link to the webinar will be sent to you. There is no fee for the course.


Presenter Wyn McCormack worked as guidance counsellor and special education teacher as well as being the parent of three sons with dyslexia.  She has designed and presented courses on dyslexia for teachers, parents and students since 1996.   She is the author of the Factsheets on Dyslexia at Second Level (2014), Lost for Words 3rd Ed. 2007, and co-author of Dyslexia, an Irish Perspective 2nd Ed 2010.

Interview with former Uachtarán na hEireann by Lee Brennan

Third year student, Lee Brennan, was recently picked by his youth group, Carlow Regional Youth Group, to speak online with Mary Robinson about the Climate Crisis and what young people do to raise awareness, slow it down and to play a role in stopping it. Below, Lee outlines his fantastic experience with the former Uachtarán na hÉireann.


Before I had the meeting with Mrs. Robinson, I asked my science and geography teachers and the Green-schools Committee to help me with some ideas on questions to ask her. I also asked some members of my family who know a lot about Climate Change and after everyone got back to me, I was given plenty of questions and links to interviews done by Mary Robinson and by Climate activist Greta Thunberg. I then prepared ten questions for Mary, some of which included: 1. Do you feel that Covid-19 would have a positive or negative impact on Climate Change? 2.Why do you think that Climate Change is a violation of human rights and 3. Why do both you and Greta Thunberg discuss system change in relation to Climate Change?

Seven other youth groups also took part in the interview on the day. To start the interview, Mary gave us a brief rundown of herself and what she has done. She told us that she was born into a family as the only girl and so she always felt she had to be vocal to get heard over her brothers. Later, she explained that the person who made her the activist she is today was her grandfather as, even when she was a child, he always spoke to her about the cases he worked as a barrister as though she was a grown woman. I was the first person to get to ask her a question. I asked her the question mentioned previously about her and Greta talking about system change. Mary replied that she feels that the way we are producing products currently is not good enough and that if there isn’t a change soon, the damage will be irreversible. She also mentioned that we have now seen with the pandemic that the main cause of Climate Change is production of goods as during this pandemic production has reduced and carbon emissions have decreased. I really enjoyed the experience and was delighted to speak with Mary. After I had finished, I realized just how inspirational and well-spoken she is.

I am also a member of Knockbeg College’s Green-schools Committee. Our focus is to reduce our waste and increase biodiversity. We are currently working on collecting used plastic bottles at home, and in school once we get back, in order to build an onsite Green House where we will plant some vegetables and a variety of different flowers. The committee conducted a school wide litter awareness campaign from September to December of 2020. In November/December we also planted some bulbs and plants on the school grounds and all these actions are to promote biodiversity within the school. Overall, we hope to play a role in decreasing the impacts of Climate Change nationally and globally.

Past Pupil, Brodie Feeney, receives Entrance Exhibition Award to Trinity College Dublin

We are all delighted in St. Mary’s Knockbeg College to hear that our past pupil, Brodie Feeney, has been awarded the Trinity College Dublin Entrance Exhibition Award as the incoming student with the highest points from their public exams from our school. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Trinity College had their awards ceremony  last Thursday online. We caught up with Brodie to ask him about the past year.

What was your experience of the Leaving Cert like?

My experience of the leaving Cert was definitely unusual, especially considering how quickly we had to adjust from classroom teaching to the new normal. For me, there was a lot of hushed nervousness before leaving, especially considering we had only received our mocks within days previous to the switch. Although in reality, I found it quite easy to adjust. Once I found a routine it was not that bad to be honest. Obviously once the leaving cert was cancelled it was a relief but that brought a different sort of nervousness with it, especially in the final weeks when results and offers were coming out, considering your marks were in part up to others opinions of your capabilities rather than your own merit. Aside from the technicalities of the LC, I think the biggest let down of the entire thing was missing out on both Grad and the Debs.

How did you feel when you heard that you were a recipient of the award?

I was surprised. I had not expected to be contacted or to receive any awards so when the email popped up in my inbox it was quite the pleasant surprise.

What did your parents say when you told them?

I’m the eldest of the family and first to go through college so this is as much of a new experience for them as it is for me. They didn’t know about the award beforehand, so as well as being proud I think they were relieved that I would be buying my own books out of the rewarded voucher.

What course are you studying?

I’m studying Business, Economics and Social Sciences (BESS). I’ve always been interested in the social sciences and while I saw the Business and Economics side of the course to be simply practical, I have come to enjoy them just as much.

How has covid-19 affected your experience of college life?

Drastically, but there are silver linings. I had planned to be living in Trinity Halls during my first year but as we haven’t had a single class on campus it was probably for the best. While it is draining to be stuck at home all the time, I feel like I’ve done better in my studies since there is way less distraction. I’ve still been able to meet a few people through classes and through societies so that aspect of college life hasn’t been totally lost.

College Feast Day 2020

The Feast of the Immaculate Conception and our subsequent College Feast day was celebrated in St. Clare’s Church in Graiguecullen yesterday, the 8th of December. The prayer service was led by Bishop Nulty, and was broadcast live using the Graiguecullen and Killeshin Parish webcam. The majority of our students watched the event from their classrooms, as due to to Covid restrictions, only members of the choir and prefects could attend. After the prayer service, Charlie Flannagan TD, former Minister for Justice, Foreign Affairs and Past Pupil, spoke to the school community about the fond memories and valuable lessons from his time in Knockbeg College.