Leinster A Colleges Senior Football Championship 1st Round

Knockbeg College 2-9 Maynooth CC 1-6

Knockbeg got their Leinster football campaign off to a good start with a hard-fought victory over Maynooth Community College. Goals from Paddy Regan and Oisin Byrne proved vital as Knockbeg claimed victory in poor conditions.

The Carlow School, supported by their large group of supporters, included some of their junior side last year, that reached the All Ireland Final.

Knockbeg started off well with a point from midfielder Ian Shanahan. This was followed by a fine score from Ross Bolger.

Knockbeg continued to stick on pressure with Maynooth failing to get an opportunity to score. A high ball into Ciaran Burke resulted in a tidy finish by Oisin Byrne, who was a constant pain for Maynooth’s full back line.

Maynooth responded with a free and a point from their full forward who caused trouble in the first half.

Cillian Duff got the next score while under pressure and Knockbeg were beginning to dominate.

Maynooth then got themselves back in the game with a well taken goal from their full forward. He then followed this score up with a point, but this would lead to a long period of the game where they would fail to score.

Ross Bolger ended the half with a point to give Knockbeg a one-point lead with the score at 1-5 to 1-4.

Knockbeg opened the half with scores from Oisin Byrne and Ross Bolger.

Dylan Doyle and Colin Dunne then added to the score as Knockbeg began to take hold of the game.

Strong running from midfielders Shanahan and Burke gave the Carlow side a strong base to kick on and claim victory.

Some great running from Ross Bolger resulted in a well taken point by the Killeshin clubman.

Tinryland’s Paddy Regan then scored a great goal to increase the lead.

Orrie Doran, Ben Crotty and Conor Donlon held down the defence and this resulted in Maynooth’s forwards scoring only two points in the second half.

Maynooth landed a free before ending the game with a point from their midfielder.

Knockbeg will be facing St Aidan’s CBS, from Whitehall, Dublin in the next match and a win over the Dublin school will see them top the group.

KNOCKBEG: Seán Dollard (Killeshin); Jamie Kelly (St Joseph’s), Conor Donlon (Annanough), Orrie Doran (Killeshin); Eoin Fitzpatrick (Killeshin), Ben Crotty (Eire Og), David McDonald (Killeshin), Ian Shanahan (0-1) (St Joseph’s), Cillian Duff (0-1) (Palatine); Fionn Bergin (Grange), Ross Bolger (0-4) (Killeshin), Paddy Regan (1-0) (Tinryland); Oisin Byrne (1-1) (Arles-Killeen), Ciaran Burke (Crettyard), James Dowling (Michael Davitts) Subs: Leeson Hughes (Killeshin), Dylan Doyle (0-1) (Clonmore), Adam Fennelly (Tinryland), Colin Dunne (0-1) (Arles-Killeen), Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s)