Past Pupils of Knockbeg College


The College has the oldest surviving Past Pupils’ Union in the country and it is an invaluable aid to the College, purchasing a new bus for us in the last couple of years and also contributing funds for other resources. The annual Golf Day they organise each June in Carlow raises funds for the school and allows past-pupils to meet socially. A biennial 'Reunion Dinner' is held and attracts close to two hundred people. The President of the Past Pupils’ Union at the moment is former Rector, Fr. Dan Dunne and Carlow Branch Chairman is Mr. John Behan.

A board inside the college’s front entrance hall lists the Presidents of the Past Pupils Union from 1930 to the present day.

Past Pupils Union

The Union's president ffor 2009 - 2011, Mr. T. Kirley, accepts his chain of office from outgoing President, V. Rev. Fr. PJ McEvoy at the Dublin Branch Annual Dinner in Elm Park Golf Club.
The President for the years 2011 - 2014 is former Rector and current  Parish Priest of Ballyadams, Fr. Dan Dunne. He accepted his chain of office from Tom Kirley at the Carlow Reunion Dinner in the Seven Oaks Hotel on the 26th November 2011.

Dublin Branch Annual Dinner 22nd March 2014.

The Dublin Branch of the Union welcomes Past Pupils to Elm Park Golf Club for its annual dinner on Saturday 22nd March. The current Chairman of the Dublin Branch is Michael Fitzpatrick, 2, Sans Souci Wood, Bray, Co. Wicklow  0872909920. The Secretary is Pat Godfrey, 15, Glendoher Park, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16. 0872377999.

Annual Mass and Dublin Branch AGM

The annual Mass for deceased Past Pupils took place place on Tuesday 11th February, 2014 at 7.30 p.m. in the premises of Brenson Lawlor, Argyle Square, Morehampton Rd., Dublin 4. It was celebrated by Monsignor Brendan Byrne,  former Diocesan Administrator and Rector. Afterwards the AGM was held and after reports from the Secretary, Chairman and Treasurer and College Principal the following officers were re-elected ; Michael Fitzpatrick, Chairman, Pat Godfrey, Secretary and Pat Lawlor, Treasurer. As the Presidency of the Past Pupils Union reverts to the Dublin Branch for the next 2 years it was decided that a decision on the nominee would be taken at a later committee meeting. Afterwards refreshments were served.


November 2015.( Dates subject to confirmation ) 

GOLF: The 2014 Knockbeg Cup competition will take place in Craddockstown Golf Club on Thursday 28th August 2014. See Knockbeg Cup page for details. It is also envisaged that the Knockbeg College Golf Classic will be revived in 2015 with a tentative date fixed for Friday June 19th 2015. Confirmation of details will follow.

The next re-union dinner in Carlow for the following classes 1955 and 1956, 1965 and 1966, 1975 and 1976, 1985 and 1986, 1995 and 1996, 2005 and 2006 will take place in November 2015 in the Seven Oaks Hotel, Carlow. Looking forward to seeing you there. For more details please contact Mr John Behan at the College - 059/9142127 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            059/9142127      end_of_the_skype_highlighting begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            059/9142127 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            059/9142127      end_of_the_skype_highlighting begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            059/9142127 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            059/9142127      end_of_the_skype_highlighting      end_of_the_skype_highlighting      end_of_the_skype_highlighting.

Some Notable Alumni

  • James Fintan Lalor - Founder of The Irish Tenant Rights Association 1846.

  • William Hoey Kearney Redmond - Irish Nationalist and Parliamentary M.P. for 34 years.

  • Lt.Col.Myles Keogh - Killed with General Custer at the Battle of the Little Big Horn.

  • Kevin O'Higgins - Pro Treaty T.D. and Minister for Home Affairs in the First Dail ( 1922 ). Founder of An Garda Siochana.

  • Tommy Murphy (The Boy Wonder ) - Laois and Leinster footballer. Midfield on the Team of the Millennium.

  • Paddy Lalor - Fianna Fail T.D. for Laois/Offaly. Minister for Industry and Commerce and M.E.P.

  • Charlie Flanagan Fine Gael T.D. for Laois/Offaly - Minister for Children and Youth Affairs.

  • Liam Hayes - Journalist, Editor, All Star and All Ireland winning Meath footballer.

  • Hugh Byrne, Co. Wicklow, GAA President from 1961 to 1964.

  • Liam O'Neill, Trumera, Co. Laois,  GAA President 2012 to 2014.